INFORMATION FOR "OUT OF STATE" REGISTERED OFFENDERS

VISITING: An out of state offender who is temporarily working or visiting in North Dakota must register if the offender will be staying overnight in North Dakota for 10 or more consecutive days, or if the offender will be staying overnight in North Dakota for thirty days or more in a calendar year (even if those days are not consecutive).

RELOCATING: If you are a registered offender who will be visiting this state or you are thinking of relocating to North Dakota for work:

- 1. **Before you leave,** make sure you have confirmed that you actually have a place to live when you get here. North Dakota's winters are extreme overnight temperatures can drop to minus 40°F. Campers may not be adequate housing for the extreme climate in ND.
 - a. If you are currently under probation supervision, state law requires that you receive permission under the interstate compact **before** relocating to ND.
 - b. There are no state laws restricting where a low or moderate risk offender may live. A high risk offender may not reside within 500 feet of a public or nonpublic preschool, elementary, middle or high school. As a registered offender is not in a "protected" class, it is not a violation of the law for a landlord to refuse to rent to a registered offender.
- 2. Contact the registering authority in your current location to inform that authority of the date you intend to move to ND and the ND address at which you will be living. That registering authority should then notify the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation, at agoso@nd.gov or (701) 328-5500. This will help to speed up the registration and the risk assessment process when you arrive in ND and also will help to ensure your full compliance with North Dakota's registration requirements.
- 3. You must register as an offender in North Dakota if you will be living or working in this state for a period of 10 consecutive days or more than 30 days in any calendar year. You must complete your registration with the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction within three (3) days of arriving in this state.
 - a. There are 53 counties in ND; each county has its own sheriff's office. Many local cities also have their own police department. If your ND address is located within city limits and the city has its own police department, the registering agency is most likely the police department. If the city does not have its own department or the address is outside city limits, then the registering agency is the county sheriff. You can find contact information for North Dakota local police departments and sheriff's offices online at: <u>http://www.post.nd.gov/index.html</u>.
- 4. North Dakota assesses ALL sexual offenders and assigns its own risk level, regardless of your current level. ALL offenders are posted on the state's sex offender website.
 - a. The manner and extent of the community notification and the frequency with which your information is verified depends on the procedures established by the local law enforcement agency and your risk level.

NOTE: Failure to fully comply with all registration requirements is a criminal offense for which there is a minimum mandatory jail term.

Still have questions? State law prohibits the Attorney General and his staff from providing legal advice or assistance to members of the public. For legal advice and to ensure compliance, you will need to contact an attorney in private practice. If you need assistance finding an attorney, you can contact the ND State Bar Association at (701) 255-1404.